Welcome to UW Biomaterials

Directory

The follow University of Washington faculty are actively involved in biomaterials or tools that enhance biomaterials research:

Andre Berndt

Assistant Professor
berndtuw@uw.edu
South Lake Union campus, 850 Republican St., Brotman Building

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Karl F. Böhringer, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Bioengineering

Director, Nano-engineered Systems Institute (NanoES)

Site Director, National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (NNCI)

 

University of Washington

Campus Box 352500

Seattle, WA 98195-2500, USA

karlb@uw.edu

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

James D. Bryers

jbryers@uw.edu
206 221-5876
fax: 206 616-9763
Box 355061

Professor, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering
Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Adjunct Professor, Chemical Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

David G. Castner

castner@uw.edu
Phone: (206)543-8094
fax: 206 221-7451
Office: MolES 225
Box 351653

Professor, ENG: Chemical Engineering-Faculty
Professor, Chemical Engineering
Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Daniel Chiu

chiu@uw.edu
206 543-1655, 206 543-1610
fax: 206 685-8665
Box 351700

PROFESSOR, CAS: Chemistry
Professor, Chemistry
Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
A. Bruce Montgomery Professorship in Chemistry, Chemistry
Endowed Professorship in Analytical Chemistry, Chemistry

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Eric Chudler

chudler@uw.edu
206 616-6899
Box 354880

Res. Assoc. Professor, SOM: Bioengineering
Research Associate Professor, Bioengineering (Medicine)
Research Associate Professor, Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Cole DeForest

profcole@uw.edu
206 543-5961
Box 351750

Assistant Professor, ENG: Chemical Engineering-Faculty
Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Dan Evans Term Career Development Professorship, Chemical Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Albert Folch

afolch@uw.edu
Phone: 206 685-2257
Office: Foege N430N
Box 355061

Professor, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Adjunct Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Adjunct Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing

 

Lara Gamble

lgamble@uw.edu
206 616-4173
Box 351653

Research Associate Professor, SOM: Bioengineering
Research Associate Professor, Bioengineering (Medicine)

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Dayong Gao

dayong@uw.edu
206 543-1411
fax: 206 685-8047
Box 352600

PROFESSOR, ENG: Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Cecilia M. Giachelli

Hunter and Dorothy Simpson Endowed Chair
ceci@uw.edu
206 543-0205
fax: 206 616-9763
Box 355061

Professor, PROV: School of Medicine
Professor, PROV: College of Engineering
Professor, Bioengineering (Medicine)
Chair, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Chair, Bioengineering (Medicine)

Learn more about what I’m doing

 

Bruce Hinds

bjhinds@uw.edu
206 685-9960
Box 352120

Campbell Professor of MSE, ENG: Materials Science and Engineering
Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Robert J. Campbell Professorship in Material Science and Engineering – 1, Materials Science and Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Shaoyi Jiang

sjiang@uw.edu
206 616-6509
fax: 206 685-3451
Box 351750

Professor, ENG: Chemical Engineering-Faculty
Professor, Chemical Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Boeing-Roundhill Endowed Professorship, Chemical Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Deok-Ho Kim

deokho@uw.edu
206 616-1133, 206 616-8786
fax: 206 685-3300
Box 355061

Associate Professor, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Associate Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Barry Lutz

blutz@uw.edu
206 685-9891
Box 355061

Associate Professor, SOM: Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Bioengineering (Medicine)
Pilcher Term Faculty Fellowship, Bioengineering (Medicine)

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Lucas R. Meza

lmeza@uw.edu
206 543-5288
Box 352600

Assistant Professor, ENG: Mechanical Engineering JM Academic

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Charles E. Murry

murry@u.washington.edu
Phone: (206)616-8685
South Lake Union campus:
Office: 850 Republican St., Brotman Building, Room 453

Joint Professor of Pathology, Cardiology, and Bioengineering

Learn more about what I’m doing

 

Elizabeth Nance

eanance@uw.edu
206 543-2216
Box 351750

Assistant Professor, ENG: Chemical Engineering-Faculty
Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Radiology

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Alshakim Nelson

alshakim@uw.edu
206 543-2083
Box 351700

Assistant Professor, CAS: Chemistry
Assistant Professor, Chemistry

Learn more about what I’m doing

 

Matt O’Donnell

odonnel@uw.edu
206 465-2144
Box 355013

Professor, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering
Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Dean Emeritus, College of Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Suzie Hwang Pun

spun@uw.edu
206 685-3488
Box 355061

Professor, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering
Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Robert F. Rushmer Term Professorship, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Adjunct Professor, Chemical Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Buddy Ratner

ratner@uw.edu
206 685-1005, 206 616-9718
fax: 206 616-9763
Box 355061

Professor & Director UWEB, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering
Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Michael L. And Myrna Darland Endowed Chair In Technology Commercialization, Chemical Engineering
Professor, Chemical Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

Daniel M. Ratner

dratner@uw.edu
Phone: (206)685-2840
Office: Foege N210D
Box 355061

Associate Professor, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering
Associate Professor,Bioengineering (Engineering)

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Joan Sanders

jbryers@uw.edu
206 221-5876
fax: 206 616-9763
Box 355061

Professor, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering
Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Adjunct Professor, Chemical Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

Mehmet Sarikaya

sarikaya@uw.edu
206 543-0724
fax: 206 543-6381
Box 352120

Professor, ENG: Materials Science and Engineering
Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Chemical Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Oral Health Sciences

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Marta Scatena

mscatena@uw.edu
206 543-5789
fax: 206 685-1357
Box 358056

Research Associate Professor, SOM: Bioengineering
Research Associate Professor, Bioengineering (Medicine)

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Nathan Sniadecki

nsniadec@uw.edu
206 685-6591
Box 352600

Associate Professor, ENG: Mechanical Engineering
Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Adjunct Associate Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Patrick S. Stayton

stayton@uw.edu
206 685-0163, 206 685-8148
fax: 206 685-8256
Box 355061

Professor, SOM: Bioengineering
Professor, Bioengineering (Medicine)
Bioengineering Distinguished Career Term Professorship, College of Engineering
Director, College of Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Oral Health Sciences

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Kelly Stevens

ksteve@uw.edu
Box 355061

Assistant Professor, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Assistant Professor, Pathology

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Ashleigh B. Theberge

abt1@uw.edu
206 685-2330
Box 351700

Assistant Professor, CAS: Chemistry
Assistant Professor, Chemistry
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Urology

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Wendy E. Thomas

wendyt@uw.edu
206 616-3947
fax: 206 685-3300
Box 355061

Professor, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Assistant Chair, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Adjunct Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Junlan Wang

junlan@uw.edu
206 543-4601
fax: 206 685-8047
Box 352600

Associate Professor, ENG: Mechanical Engineering
Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Kim Woodrow

woodrow@uw.edu
206 685-6831
Box 355061

Associate Professor, SOM: Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Bioengineering (Medicine)

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Paul Yager

yagerp@uw.edu
206 543-6126
Box 355061

Professor, Bioengineering
Adjunct Professor, Chemistry
Adjunct Professor, Global Health
Adjunct Professor, Oral Health Sciences

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Azadeh Yazdan-Shahmorad

Azadeh Yazdan-Shahmorad
206 543-6127
Box 355061

Assistant Professor, ENG: Department Of Bioengineering

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Miqin Zhang

mzhang@uw.edu
206 616-9356, 206 543-2600
fax: 206 543-3100
Box 352120

Professor, ENG: Materials Science and Engineering
Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Bioengineering (Engineering)
Professor, Neurological Surgery
Adjunct Professor, Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine
Adjunct Professor, Radiology

Learn more about what I’m doing.

Ying Zheng

yingzy@uw.edu
206 543-3223
Box 358050

Associate Professor, SOM: Bioengineering
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering (Medicine)
Associate Professor, Bioengineering (Medicine)

Learn more about what I’m doing.

 

Emeritus Biomaterials Faculty

Allan S. Hoffman

hoffman@uw.edu

 

Thomas A. Horbett

thomas.horbett@gmail.com