Virginia Merrill Bloedel Hearing Research Center

Affiliate Directory

Active

Les Atlas, PhD
Professor – Electrical Engineering
Box 352500; atlas@ee.washington.edu

Andres Barria, PhD
Associate Professor – Physiology and Biophysics
Box 357290; barria@uw.edu

Olivia Bermingham-McDonogh, PhD
Professor – Biological Structure
Box 357420; oliviab@uw.edu

Mark A. Bothwell, PhD
Professor – Physiology and Biophysics
Box 358056; mab@uw.edu

Eliot A. Brenowitz, PhD
Professor – Psychology, Biology
Box 351525; eliotb@uw.edu

Rechele Brooks, PhD
Research Assistant Professor – Institute for Learning & Brain Sciences (I-LABS)
Box 357988; recheleb@uw.edu

Andrew D. Brown, PhD
Assistant Professor – Speech and Hearing Sciences
Box 354875; andrewdb@uw.edu

Marc D. Coltrera, MD
Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Box 356515; coltrera@uw.edu

Ellen Covey, PhD
Professor – Psychology
Box 351525; ecovey@uw.edu

Greg E. Davis, MD, MPH
Associate Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Box 356515; gedavis@uw.edu

Tanya L. Eadie, PhD, CCC-SLP
Professor – Speech and Hearing Sciences
Adjunct Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Box 354875; teadie@uw.edu

Ione Fine, PhD
Professor – Psychology
Affiliate Professor – Ophthalmology, Radiology
Box 351525; ionefine@uw.edu

Neal D. Futran, MD, DMD
Professor and Chair – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Director – Head and Neck Surgery, UW Medicine Head and Neck Surgery Center
Box 356515; nfutran@uw.edu

David L. Horn, MD, MS
Associate Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Co-Director – Cochlear Implant Program, Seattle Children’s Hospital
Box 357923; dlhorn@uw.edu

Clifford R. Hume, MD, PhD
Associate Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Chief – Head and Neck Surgery, Seattle VA Medical Center
Box 357923; hume@uw.edu

Mary-Claire King, PhD
Professor – Genome Sciences, Medicine (Medical Genetics)
Box 357720; mcking@uw.edu

Patricia K. Kuhl, PhD
Professor – Speech and Hearing Sciences
Co-Director – Institute for Learning & Brain Sciences (I-LABS)
Adjunct Professor – Psychology, Linguistics, Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, College of Education
Box 354875; pkkuhl@uw.edu

Adrian KC Lee, ScD
Associate Professor – Speech and Hearing Sciences, Institute for Learning & Brain Sciences (I-LABS)
Adjunct Associate Professor – Electrical Engineering
Box 357988; akclee@uw.edu

Kenneth R. Maravilla, MD, PhD
Professor – Radiology, Neurological Surgery
Director – Magnetic Resonance (MR) Research Laboratory
Box 357115; kmarav@uw.edu

Andrew N. Meltzoff, PhD
Professor – Psychology
Co-Director – Institute for Learning & Brain Sciences (I-LABS)
Box 357920; meltzoff@uw.edu

Albert L. Merati, MD, FACS
Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Chief – Laryngology, UW Medicine Head & Neck Surgery Center
Adjunct Professor –  Speech and Hearing Sciences, School of Music
Box 356515; amerati@uw.edu

Tanya K. Meyer, MD
Associate Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Director – Resident Program
Box 356515; meyertk@uw.edu

Kris Moe, MD, FACS
Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Neurological Surgery
Chief – Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, UW Medicine Head and Neck Surgery Center
Box 356515; krismoe@uw.edu

Kaibao Nie, PhD
Lecturer – Electrical Engineering, UW Bothell
Box 357923; niek@uw.edu

Susan J. Norton, PhD, CCC-A
Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Chief – Division of Pediatric Audiology, Seattle Children’s Hospital
Box 359300; snorton@uw.edu

Henry Ou, MD
Associate Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Box 356515; henryou@uw.edu

David J. Perkel, PhD
Professor – Biology, Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Co-Director – Graduate Program in Neuroscience
Adjunct Professor – Physiology and Biophysics
Box 351800; perkel@uw.edu

James O. Phillips, PhD
Research Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Director – Dizziness and Balance Center
Adjunct Research Professor – Speech and Hearing Sciences
Box 357923; jop@uw.edu

Rémy Pujol, PhD
Affiliate Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Professor Emeritus – Université de Montpellier, France
Box 357923; rpujol@uw.edu

David W. Raible, PhD
Professor – Biological Structure
Adjunct Professor – Biology, Genome Sciences
Box 357420; draible@uw.edu

Bruce R. Ransom, MD, PhD
Professor and Chair – Neurology
Box 356465; bransom@uw.edu

Thomas A. Reh, PhD
Professor – Biological Structure
Box 357420; tomreh@uw.edu

Todd L. Richards, PhD
Professor – Radiology
Box 357115; toddr@uw.edu

Edwin W Rubel, PhD
Professor Emeritus – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Physiology and Biophysics
Chair Emeritus – Basic Hearing Science, Virginia Merrill Bloedel Hearing Research Center
rubel@uw.edu

Daniel D. Rubens, MD
Associate Professor – Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
Director – Anesthesiology Transplant Service, Seattle Children’s Hospital
Box 359300; rubend@uw.edu

Jay T. Rubinstein, MD, PhD
Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Bioengineering
Director – Virginia Merrill Bloedel Hearing Research Center
Box 357923; rubinj@uw.edu

Eric T. Shea-Brown, PhD
Professor – Applied Mathematics
Box 353925; etsb@uw.edu

Kathleen Sie, MD
Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Chief – Pediatric Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Seattle Children’s Hospital
Box 359300; kathysie@uw.edu

Joseph A. Sisneros, PhD
Professor –  Psychology
Associate Chair – Research
Adjunct Professor – Biology
Box 351525; sisneros@uw.edu

William Spain, MD
Professor – Neurology, Physiology and Biophysics
Box 358280; spain@uw.edu

Jennifer Stone, PhD
Research Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Box 357923; stoner@uw.edu

Kelly L. Tremblay, PhD, CCC-A
Professor – Speech and Hearing Sciences
Box 354875; tremblay@uw.edu

Avery H. Weiss, MD
Professor – Opthalmology
Adjunct Professor – Pediatrics
Box 359300; avery.weiss@seattlechildrens.org

Ernest A. Weymuller, MD
Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Associate Medical Director – UW Medicine Head & Neck Surgery Center
Box 356515; eaw@uw.edu

Mark E. Whipple, MD
Associate Professor – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Biomedical Informatics and Medical Education
Assistant Dean – Curriculum, UW School of Medicine
Box 359894; mwhipple@uw.edu

Rachel O. Wong, PhD
Professor and Chair – Biological Structure
Adjunct Professor – Ophthalmology
Box 357420; wongr2@uw.edu

Richard A. Wright, PhD
Professor and Chair – Linguistics
Director – Linguistic Phonetics Laboratory
Adjunct Professor – Speech and Hearing Sciences
Box 352425; rawright@uw.edu

Inactive

William Stafford Noble, PhD
Professor – Genome Sciences
Box 355065; william-noble@uw.edu

Lee Osterhout, PhD
Professor – Psychology
Box 351525; losterho@uw.edu

Noah Seixas, PhD
Professor – Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences
Box 354695; nseixas@uw.edu

Retired

Michael D. Beecher, PhD
Professor (Retired) – Psychology
beecher@uw.edu

John H. Casseday, PhD*
Research Professor Emeritus – Psychology
casseday@uw.edu

Larry G. Duckert, MD, PhD
Professor Emeritus – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
duckert@uw.edu

Richard C. Folsom, PhD*
Professor Emeritus – Speech and Hearing Sciences
rfolsom@uw.edu

Albert F. Fuchs, PhD
Professor Emeritus – Physiology and Biophysics
fuchs@uw.edu

George A. Gates, MD
Professor Emeritus – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Director Emeritus – Virginia Merrill Bloedel Hearing Research Center
georgeg@otonexus.com

Allen D. Hillel, MD
Professor Emeritus – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
ahillel@uw.edu

Robert M. Miller, PhD
Senior Lecturer Emeritus – Speech and Hearing Sciences
rmm2@uw.edu

Fred D. Minifie, PhD
Professor and Chair Emeritus – Speech and Hearing Sciences
fred.minifie@verizon.net 

Elizabeth C. Oesterle, PhD
Research Associate Professor (Retired) – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
oesterle@uw.edu

Lesley B. Olswang, PhD
Professor Emeritus – Speech and Hearing Sciences
lolswang@uw.edu

Thomas S. Rees, PhD
Associate Professor (Retired) – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
trees@uw.edu

Francis A. Spelman, PhD
Professor Emeritus – Bioengineering
fspelman@uw.edu

Bruce L. Tempel, PhD
Professor (Retired) – Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Pharmacology
bltempel@uw.edu

Lynne A. Werner, PhD*
Professor Emeritus – Speech and Hearing Sciences
lawerner@uw.edu

*Still active in the UW community