prized's Blog

Ralph Shapey

Personal Biography:



American Arts and Letters Music Prize (1966)


Compositions for Winds:

Stony Brook Concerto (1996) – Flute/Piccolo, oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Trumpet, Horn, Trombone/Bass Trombone, 2 Percussion, Violin, Callo, Piano 

Concerto Grosso (1987) for Woodwind Quintet

Fanfares (1987) for Brass Quintet

Concertante II for Alto Saxophone and 14 players (1987) – Alto Saxophone, Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Trumpet, Horn, Trombone, 3 Percussion, Violin, Viola, Cello, Double bass

Brass Quintet (1963) for 2 Trumpets, Horn, Trombone, Bass trombone

Chamber Symphony for 10 Soloists (1962) for Flute, Oboe, English Horn, Horn, Trumpet, Percussion, Violin, Cello, Contrabass

De Profundis for Solo Double Bass and Instruments (1960) for Solo Contrabass, Piccolo/Flute, Oboe/English Horn, Clarinet/Bassoon, Clarinet/Alto Saxophone, Horn, Violin

Dimensions for Soprano and 14 Instruments (1960) for Soprano, Flute, Oboe, Tenor Sax, Horn, Trumpet, Piano, 7 Percussionists, Contrabass



Oboe Quartet (date unknown)