prized's Blog

John Harbison

Composer’s Biography:



Pulitzer Prize (1987): The Flight into Egypt

Guggenheim Fellowship (1977)

American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1972)


Compositions for Winds:

Rubies (1999) for Symphonic Band

Olympic Dances (1997) for Wind Ensemble

Three City Blocks (1991) for Wind Ensemble

Music for Eighteen Winds (1986) for Wind Ensemble

Fanfare for Foley’s (1986) for Brass and Percussion

San Antonio (1984) transcribed for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble

Overture: Michael Kohlhaas (1982) for Brass and Percussion

Confinement (1965) for Flute, Oboe/ English Horn, Clarinet/ Bass Clarinet, Alto Saxophone, Trumpet, Trombone, Percussion, Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello, Bass