prized's Blog

Roger Reynolds

Personal Website:



Pulitzer Prize (1989): Whispers Out of Time

American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1971)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1964)


Compositions for Winds:

Aspiration (2004-5) for Solo Violin, Flute (Piccolo), Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon (Contrabassoon), Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Percussion, Piano, 2 Violins, Viola, Cello, Bass

The Angel of Death (1998-2000) for Solo Piano, Flute (Piccolo), Piccolo (Flute), Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Horn, 2 Trumpets, Trombone, 3 Percussion, 2 Violins, Viola, Cello, Bass,  6-channel computer processed sound

Watershed III (1995) for Solo Percussion, Flute (Piccolo), Oboe, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Horn, Trumpet, Bass Trombone, Piano, 2 Violins, Viola, Cello, Bass, Optional real-time computer sound spatialization

Dionysus (1990) for Chamber Ensemble

Transfigured Wind III (1984) for Solo Flute, Oboe, 2 Clarinets (I – Eb, II – Bass Clarinet), Bassoon, Contrabassoon), Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, 2 Percussion, Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello, Bass, Quadraphonic computer processed sound

Only Now, and Again (1977) for Chamber Ensemble

The Promises of Darkness (1975) for Flute, Clarinet, Bassoon, Trumpet, Horn, Trombone, Percussion, Piano, Violin, Cello, Bass

Gathering (1965) for Woodwind Quintet

Quick Are the Mouths of Earth (1964-65) for 3 Flutes/ Piccolos, Oboe, Trumpet, Trombone, Bass Trombone, 2 Percussion, Piano, 3 Cellos

Wedge (1961) for Chamber Ensemble