prized's Blog

Aaron Jay Kernis

Personal Biography:



Rome Prize (2009)

Grawemeyer Award (2002) – Colored Field

Pulitzer Prize (1998): String Quartet No. 2, Musica Instrumentalis for String Quartet

American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1995)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1984)


Compositions for Winds:

For Love of the Mountains (2016) for Wind Ensemble

a Voice, a Messenger (2009) for Solo Trumpet and Wind Ensemble

New Era Dance (1994) for Wind Ensemble

Harlem River Reveille (1993) for Brass Quintet

Invisible Mosaic II (1988) for Flute/ Piccolo, Clarinet/ Bass Clarinet, Oboe, Trumpet, Horn, Trombone, Tuba, 2 Percussion, Harp, Piano/ Celesta, 2 Violins, Viola, Cello, Bass