prized's Blog

David Chaitkin

Personal Website:



American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1994)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1985)


Compositions for Winds:

Celebration for Winds (2007) for Wind Ensemble

Nocturne (1991) for Woodwind Quintet

Pacific Images (1987) for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, 2 Percussion, Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello, Contrabass

Summersong for 23 Wind Instruments (1981) for 3 Flutes (3rd doubles Piccolo), 2 Oboes, English Horn, 3 Clarinets, 3 Bassoons (3rd double on Contrabassoon), 4 Horns, 3 Trumpets, 2 Trombones, Bass Trombone, Tuba

Music in Five Parts (1967) for Flute, Clarinet, Trumpet, Horn, Violin,
Viola and Cello