prized's Blog

Ronald Caltabiano

Personal Biography:



American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1996)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1992)


Compositions for Winds:

Clarinet Quartet (2004)

Marrying the Hangman Chamber Opera (1999) for Mezzo-Soprano and Seven Players-Flute (doubles on Piccolo and Alto Flute), Clarinet (doubles on Eb Clarinet, and Bass Clarinet), Alto Saxophone (doubles on Tenor Sax.), Percussion, Piano, Violin, Cello (instrumentalists also participate in the action)

Passages Five Poems of Jim Barnes (1993) for Tenor and 12 Players- Tenor Solo, Flute, Oboe, English Horn, Clarinet, Bassoon, Percussion, Horn, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Bass

Hexagons for Woodwind Quintet and Piano

Passacaglia for Wind Ensemble

Torched Liberty- Contata No. 2 for Soprano and 7 Players- Soprano, Flute/Piccolo/Alto Flute, Clarinet in A/Eb Clarinet/Bass Clarinet, Trumpet, Percussion, Piano, Violin, and Cello