prized's Blog

Robert Kurka

Personal Biography:



American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1952)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1951)


Works for Winds:

Little Suite for Woodwind Quartet, op. 18

The Good Soldier Schweik Suite from the Opera (1956) for Flute, Piccolo, Oboe, English Horn, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon, Contra Bassoon, 2 Trumpets, 3 Horns, Trombone, Timpani, Snare Drum

Concerto for Marimba (1960) for Solo Marimba, 2 Flutes, Piccolo, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, Eb Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, 2 Bassoons, 2 Trumpets, 2 Horns, 2 Trombones, Double Bass, Timpani, Percussion