prized's Blog

Benjamin Burwell Johnston, Jr.

Biographical Information:



American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (2007)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1959)


Compositions for Winds: 

Nightreach (1998-1999) for 4 Saxophones

O Waly, Waly Variations (1998-1999) for 4 Saxophones

Septet (1956-1958) for Flute (Piccolo), Oboe (English Horn), Clarinet (Bass Clarinet), Bassoon, French Horn, Cello, and Bass

Concerto for Brass (1951) for Brass Ensemble