prized's Blog

Wen-chung Chou

Personal Website:



American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1963)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1957)


Compositions for Winds:

Echoes from the Gorge for Percussion (1989)

Beijing in the Mist (1986) – alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, trumpet, trombone, electric guitar, electric bass, electric piano, acoustic piano, and percussion

Yün (1969) – flute, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, percussion, piano

Ceremonial (1968) for Trumpets and Trombones

Pien (1966) – flute, alto flute, english horn, oboe, bassoon, A clarinet, horn, D trumpet, Bb trumpet, trombone, bass trombone, percussion, piano

Yü Ko (1965)  – alto flute, English horn, bass clarinet, 2 trombones, percussion, piano, violin

Riding the Wind (1964) for Wind Symphony

Metaphors (1961) for Wind Symphony

Soliloquy of a Bhiksuni (1958) – 1 solo trumpet in B-flat (muted), 4 horns, 3 trombones, tuba

Seven Poems of the T’ang Dynasty (1951-52) – solo tenor voice, flute/piccolo, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, C trumpet, trombone, piano, percussion

Suite for Harp and Wind Quintet (1951)