prized's Blog

Meyer Kupferman

Personal Website:



American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1981)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1974)


Compositions for Winds:

Acrobats of Apollo (1996) for Guitar, Marimba and Chamber Orchestra (Flute (Pic), Oboe (English Horn), Clarinet, Bass Clarinet (Alto Sax), Bassoon, Horn, Piano, Violin, and Cello

The Flight of Orestes (1995) for Saxophone Sextet (Soprano, 2 Alto, 2 Tenor, Bari) or doubled by Clarinet, E-flat Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, and Bassoon

Soundspells for Six (1993) for Piano and Woodwind Quintet

Four Spells for Five Winds (1991) for Woodwind Quintet

Infinities Projections (Infinities #12) (1989) Flute (Pic.), Oboe, English Horn, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon, Violin, Cello and Piano

Top Five Brass (1989) for 5 Trumpets

Images of Chagall (1987) for Clarinet (E-flat Cl. & Bass Cl.), Bassoon, Trumpet, Trombone, Percussion, Violin and Bass

Little Licorice Concerto (A) (1986) for Solo Clarinet, 8 Clarinets, and 2 Bass Clarinets

Rock Shadows (1986) for Brass Quintet

Of Dungeons and Dragons (1983) for Guitar and Woodwind Quintet

Little Concertante (1983) for Cello solo, Flute, 2 Oboes, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns, and Timpani

Small Fugue for MASC (A) (1983) for Woodwind Quintet

Mystique (1981) for Saxophone Sextet (Soprano, 2 Alto, 2 Tenor, Bari)

Soundspells #2 (1981) for Piano and Woodwind Quintet

Poseidon (1979) for Brass Quintet

Infinities #29 (1978) for Woodwind Quintet

Balloon Letters (1972) for Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Violin and Cello

Opus 0 (1971) for Woodwind Quintet

Brass Quintet (1970)

First Woodwind Quintet (1958)

Wind Quintet (1958)

Concertino for 11 Brass Instruments (1948) for 2 Horns, 4 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Bass Trombone, and Tuba