prized's Blog

Shulamit Ran

Personal Website:



Pulitzer Prize (1991): Symphony

American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1989)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1977)


Compositions for Winds:

Fault Line (2006/2005) for Soprano, Winds, Percussion, Piano and Strings

Concerto da Camera III (Under the Sun’s Gaze) (2004/2003) for Winds, Percussion and Strings

Chicago Skyline (1991) for Brass and Percussion

A Prayer (1981) for Horn, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon and Timpani

Concerto da Camera (1985) for Woodwind Quintet

Double Vision (1976) for Woodwind and Brass Quintets