prized's Blog

Aaron Copland


Rome Prize (1951)

Pulitzer Prize (1945): Appalachian Spring, ballet (part 1) (part 2) (part 3) (part 4) for Chamber Orchestra

Guggenheim Fellowship (1925)


Compositions for Winds:

Inaugural Fanfare (1969/1975) for Symphonic Band

Ceremonial Fanfare (1969) for brass choir

Emblems (1964) for Symphonic Band

Variations on a Shaker Melody (1960) for Symphonic Band

The Promise of Living (1954/2002) (arr. Singleton)

The Red Pony: Film Suite for Band (1948/1966) for Band

Fanfare for the Common Man (1942) for Brass and Percussion

An Outdoor Overture (1941) for Symphonic Band

Quiet City (1941/1992) (arr. Hunsberger)