prized's Blog

Karel Husa

Personal Website:



Grawemeyer Award (1993) – Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra

American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1989)

Pulitzer Prize (1969): String Quartet No. 3


Compositions for Winds:

Cheetah (2006) for Wind Ensemble

Les Couleurs Fauves (1996) for Wind Ensemble

Midwest Celebration (1996) for 8 hn, 9 tpt, 9 tbn, tba, 5 perc divided into three choirs

Five Poems for Wind Quintet (1994)

Tubafest Celebration Fanfare (1992) for four tubas

Concertino for Piano and Wind Ensemble (1984)

Smetana Fanfare (1984) for Wind Ensemble

Concerto for Wind Ensemble (1982)

Recollections (1982) for wind quintet and piano

Fanfare for Brass Ensemble (1980)

Landscapes for Brass Quintet (1977)

Divertimento for Symphonic Winds and Percussion (1974)

Divertimento for Brass Quintet (1974) with optional percussion

Al Fresco (1973)

Concerto for Trumpet and Wind Orchestra (1973)

Concerto for Percussion and Wind Ensemble (1971)

Apotheosis of this Earth (1970) for Wind Ensemble

Music for Prague (1968) for Wind Ensemble

Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Concert Band (1967)

Divertimento for Brass and Percussion (1958)