prized's Blog

Lewis Spratlan

Personal Website:



American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (2011)

Pulitzer Prize (2000): Life is a Dream Opera

Guggenheim Fellowship (1980)


Compositions for Winds:

Horn Quartet (2011) for 4 Horns, Violin, and Piano

Zoom (2003) for Flute, Piccolo, Oboe, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, French Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Tuba, Percussion, Piano, Viola, Cello, and Bass

Mayflies (2000) for Soprano, 3 Flutes/Piccolos, and Flute/Alto Flute/Piccolo

Penelope’s Knees: Double Concerto for Alto Saxophone, Double Bass, and Chamber Orchestra (1985) for Alto Saxophone, Double Bass, Flute, Clarinet, Trumpet, Trombone, Horn, Tuba, 2 Percussion, Violin, Viola, and Cello

When Crows Gather (1985) for 2 Bb/Eb Clarinets, Clarinet/Bass Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, 2 Violins, and Piano

Flange (1970) for 14 players