prized's Blog

Lukas Foss


Rome Prize (1978)

American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1957)

Rome Prize (1952)


Compositions for Winds:

For Aaron (2002) for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Percussion (optional), Violin, Viola, Cello, Double bass

Concerto for Band (2002) for Concert Band

American Fanfare (1990) for for amplified harp or electric guitar, double bass, amplified piano, synthesizer or electronic organ and symphonic band

Brass Quintet (1978)

For 24 Winds (1966) for 2 Flutes, Alto Flute, 2 Oboes, English Horn, 2 Clarinets, Bass Clef, 2 Bassoons, Contrabassoon., Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone; 2 French Horns, 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba

March from Griffelkin (1955) for Concert Band