prized's Blog

William Overton Smith


Rome Prize (1980)

American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1972)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1960)

Rome Prize (1958)


Compositions for Winds:

Mallets (1998) for Vibraphone and Wind Ensemble

Blue Shades (1994) for Clarinet and Wind Ensemble

Jazz Set (1991) for Violin and Wind Quintet

East Wind (1990) for Wind Ensemble

Five (1976) for Brass Quintet

Schizophrenic Scherzo (1947) for Clarinet, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Trumpet and Trombone