prized's Blog

David Rakowski

Personal Website:



American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (2000)

Rome Prize (1996)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1989)


Compositions for Winds:

Terrestrial Planets (2014) for Flute and Wind Ensemble

Elegia (2013) for Clarinet Choir

Exact Change (2011) for Flute and Soprano Saxophone

Compass (2010) for Saxophone Quartet

Stolen Moments (2008) for Woodwind Quintet, String Quartet, and Piano

Cantina (2007) for Wind Ensemble

Etruscan March (2007) for Wind Ensemble

Rule of Three (2004) for Flute, Clarinet, and Piano

Sibling Revelry (2004) for Wind Ensemble

Locking Horns (2002) for Horn Concerto

Ten of a Kind (Symphony No. 2) (2000) for Clarinet Section (Eb, 6 Bb, Alto, Bass, Bb Contrabass) and Wind Ensemble

Cerberus (1992) for Three Clarinets and Chamber Orchestra

Overderive (1985) for 4 Trumpets, 2 Alto Saxes, 2 Tenor Saxes, Baritone Sax, 4 Trombone, Guitar, Bass, Piano, and Drums

A Fanfare, for Two Dozen Trombones, Whose Length Was Determined by the Amount of Space Remaining in my Brown Notebook (1978) for 24 Trombones