prized's Blog

George Tsontakis

Personal Biography:



Charles Ives Living Award (2007)

Grawemeyer Award (2005) – Violin Concerto No. 2 (2003)

Guggenheim Fellowship (1996)

American Academy of Arts and Letters Music Prize (1995)


Compositions for Winds:

Fanfare (1996) for 6 Horns, Tuba

Three Mood Sketches (1989) for Woodwind Quintet

Three Byzantine Hymns (1988) for Chorus and Brass Quintet

Byzantium Kanon (1986) for Chorus and Brass Quintet

Birdwind Quintet (1983) for Woodwind Quintet